Can you hear me now?

desk surface

“I must write it all out, at any cost. Writing is thinking. It is more than living, for it is being conscious of living.”  Anne Morrow Lindbergh

My mind, like my desk, at any given moment is brimming with thoughts, ideas and post-its of upcoming events I need to keep on my mental dashboard for hourly revisits. At times the process of categorizing the randomness matches a circus performers juggling act but admittedly I do impress myself now and again. I am quite serious about post-its, however. They are in my desk, my car and purse for quick retrieval in order that I jot down that pressing task, quote, book or number I’ll need later. Don’t any of you comment about the fabulousness of the cell phone memo app. I don’t like it, I’ve tried it and now have countless irretrievable memos hidden there. Thus my love affair with colorful, FOOLproof, get-them-in-any-size post-its!

I find my thoughts, like unfiled desk contents, continue to bombard me until I address them…as if they, too, need to be manipulated and stowed neatly in their appropriate folders. When I write, re-write, edit and save I have somehow created order from the randomness and concurrently find a home for my mental looping of brain activity. I love this process and thus the necessity for this blog for de-cloggin’ my noggin!

This begs the first question, “Can you hear me now?” I am new to the blogasphere so I’m learning as I go. My intentions are tagging and categorizing appropriately in order that you do hear me, rather find me as you wish.

And secondly, “Do you care to?” Are my words strong enough and thoughts weighty enough to carry an audience worthy of clicking the ‘like’ and ‘comment’ buttons?

I will wait for you to find me. Until then a messy desk awaits me, cold coffee needs reheating, a demanding cat needs something I am certain I cannot deliver and there is now the thrill of capturing the inspiration for my next post. I have no schedule for writing, only ‘when thoughts congeal’ will serve as my guide. I cannot tell you how many sweet, little diaries I bought as a girl fully intending to pen my most precious thoughts for posterity only to have left them forgotten under my mattress boasting maybe a few weeks worth of entries. I believe the daily calendar scared the thoughts out of me! This, however, does not. Thinking, organizing, writing is cathartic exercise for me and a pleasure I’ve allowed to sit idle while the details of life took over.

In thinking with Anne Morrow Lindbergh, I will be conscious of living by writing it all out.

2 comments

  1. Your words made me cry,smile and remember. At 11years of age my child said after seeing ‘The birth of Venus ‘ “I have to go back I don’t know if I’ll ever see it again!” We turned around and stared for another 1/2hour breathless. 10 years later we went back. At 21 and 46 breathless yet again. Thanks for reminding me we can grow and still ‘Go Back’.

    Like

♥ thanks for commenting ♥

